About us

About us

The Fondazione Biblioteca Europea di Informazione e Cultura (BEIC), established in Milan, 2004, pursues educational and instructional goals through the realization and management of a new multimedial, free access, open shelf library. So far, only the digital section of the Beic is active (www.beic.it).   

The Beic Foundation aims to devise, support, promote and organize events and projects of all kinds, including integrated interdisciplinary research on cultural, scientific and social issues. Its task is to promote European heritage by cooperating with municipal, regional, national and international institutions, and with universities and other cultural bodies.

President of the Foundation is Dr. Francesco Paolo Tronca, Vice-President Prof. Antonio Padoa Schioppa, Director Dr. Maria Luisa Garlaschi.

The founding members are: Ministero dei beni e delle attività culturali, Roma; Ministero dell’Istruzione, dell’Università e della Ricerca, Roma; Comune di Milano;  Regione Lombardia; Università degli Studi di Milano;  Politecnico di Milano; Istituto Lombardo Accademia di Scienze e Lettere; Associazione "Milano Biblioteca del 2000".

The Foundation's Steering Committee is currently composed of: Dott. Francesco Paolo Tronca (President of the Foundation), Prof.ssa Fiorenza De Bernardi (Comune di Milano), Prof. Enrico Decleva (Ministero dei beni e delle attività culturali e del turismo), Prof. Juan Carlos De Martin (Ministero dell'Istruzione, dell'Università e della Ricerca), Prof. Salvatore Italia (Ministero dei beni e delle attività culturali e del turismo), Dr.ssa Camilla Montella (Regione Lombardia), Prof. Antonio Padoa Schioppa (Vice President of the Foundation Fondazione, Istituto Lombardo Accademia di Scienze e Lettere), Prof. Ferruccio Resta (Politecnico di Milano), Prof. Gianluca Vago (Università degli Studi di Milano).

The Foundation's Board of Auditors is currently composed of: Dr. Nicola Macrì (President of the Board, nominated by the Ministero dei beni e delle attività culturali e del turismo), Dr. Carlo Maria Rebay (nominated by the Steering Committee), Dr. Giovanni Mirarchi (nominated by Comune di Milano). Substitutes: Dr. Elena Negonda, Dr. Antonio Guastoni.